History of Training Center / Museum Site
The Naval Amory was built between 1934 and 1936 under the WPA program of President Roosevelt, and served the Ohio Naval Militia and US Navy until 1988 when it was closed and the US Navy went to a new and smaller facility in Perrysburg Ohio. The Armory has a rich history for our military and community. Having been one of the main debark and embark locations for the Navy as well as one of their major training locations. In regards to training the Armory was capable of teaching Marksmanship for small weapons, large gunnery training with the two 5” 51 canons on its main deck, communications, as well as teaching Destroyer crews on bridge and CIC(combat information center) operations because the Armory boosted a mocked up bridge and live CIC.